how can i reverse engineer the schematics of this simple computer mouse

Adel Beitvashahi

Joined Jun 30, 2017
hey i'm new to electronics and i'm working on making a drawing pen out of this mouse so I need to desolder all the parts out of the pcb and put them together in a way so that they can fit in a relatively thin pen for drawing, my problem is i dont know how each part is connected, i have looked online and couldnt find a schematic for the mouse product. its a mini ihome mouse

are the dark green lines wire connections or the light green parts?

here are some pics

yellow - Copy.jpg green - Copy.jpg

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
The light green is the copper. Consider that the copper has to connect the pins that are soldered into the board, so the regions surrounding each pin have to be copper.

I suspect you'll find getting it into a workable pen is going to be much easier said than done, but good luck.

Crash course:
A single sided when it's made has a bunch of holes and a silk screen (part designations) on the top layer.
The bottom layer at one point was solid copper. A UV resist was applied, developed and exposed and the copper etched.

You were left with tracks and exposed copper areas. Making the board mostly copper is less wastefull.
SOLDER resist is applied which is usually green that covers the entire PCB except the pads.
So, your seeing the contrast of the board and copper traces.

One processes used for the pads (where components are soldered) is HASL. This is where a layer of solder is applied at leveled with hot air, hence Hot Air Level Solder.

Now, the board can be drilled.

This is just a quick overview for the board I see. A single sided PCB. it gets a lot more complicated.

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012