High current brushed DC motor controller for outboard motor

Timothee L

Joined Oct 4, 2023
Hello everyone,

This is the first time I have ever written on a forum and this is my first electronic project,
My name is Timothee I am an electrical hobbyist and I am working on a project where the goal is to create a functional electric outboard motor, I am trying to create an electric controller for a brushed DC motor (80amps continuous output)
The problem ?
Everytime I try using the controller in my garage with the controller everything is fine it can run forward and backward and the RPM changes accordingly to the PWM signal send by my potentiometer (see schematics). But once in the water i start accelerating slowly to not overload the motor the 4 parallel N channel mosfets (IRFZ44N, Id=49Amps continuous, Vdss=55 volts) explode... And I do not understand what is wrong with my schematic (very simple with no programming I am still learning progressively).
My assumptions:
Water creates more resistance and evidently overload the motor making it consume more amps (but since I have a BMS it lets out max 80amps) and in a perfect world each mosfet should have and Id=80/4=20A BUT I guess there has to be an increase in the junction temperature that creates a snowball effect and makes them overheat even though i used a big heatsink to counter this...
I do not know how to properly scale my heatsink to counteract the increasing junction temperature so any help would be greatly appreciated !
Also I was wondering if IGBTs where better in that case or if mosfets would just do the job ? Like if someone is working in power electronics for those application what would be the best ?

PS: PWM switching frequency is around 1kHz
Battery voltage goes from 18V to 29,4V when fully charged
Vgate/source goes from 1,2V to 13V when full throttle

If you have any question ask me i will be reactive ! Thanks a lot

Timothee

Attachments

KeithWalker

Joined Jul 10, 2017