Help with selecting IC's to charge two 18650 cells in parallel?

stormrazer121

Joined May 20, 2023
As per title really i am new to this and trying to learn! But I want to make sure there is certain things in place for this little adventure of mine! so to outline it simply,

1. It has to have protection! overcharge, undercharge etc
2. USB C interface to charge - possible to use micro USB B but C is preferred.
3. If possible make it so it can be charged and used at the same time!
4. Be suitably fast at charging 2 cells connected in parallel but only if safe to do so!

So with that in mind it will be 2 18650 batteries in parallel which ideally can be charged using a quick charge IC this is where I am stuck and have looked at lots of different power banks and ripped them apart to understand them better, watched way to MANY YouTube videos and come to the conclusion that majority are not exactly safe.

I ordered some charger boards on amazon, rubbish little things and was informed they will work but charging them is not possible whilst using a connected device.

This, although not a major issue is something I want to address but what I really want to know is the best IC's to pick to make a decent and safe circuit and could do with some help on that! One that i am almost certain i WILL be using is the DW01 as i have seen this in almost all of the powerbanks I have pulled apart.

A few on my list but that I am not sure of are a B205A - my understanding is that this chip will do some kind of isolation of the supply which leads me to believe it has something to do with how I would change the IC to allow charging and use of the charger?

The 4056 - which I understand is what deals with the charging itself, a common chip that I have seen a lot and another user did inform me it wouldn't be up to the task I want hence me wanting to look at other options.