Help the microcontroller

stregoi

Joined Jun 12, 2014
Hi .. i am new to Electronics, i hope someone can help me.
I am working on a simple countdown timer for a research project. The Timer Counts Down from 2:00 min to 0:00 on a click of a button ( no other buttons ). i already made a working prototype in arduino ( it is the only thing i always has worked well ).
Now i need to make 6 models of the timer for the research project. But i am not sure what is the best microcontroller to choose for this project. the power should be as low as possible as i will use batteries. I only have programmed arduino boards.

Any suggestions ?
Thanks

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Agreed, any microcontroller can do that. If you use a PIC with TMR1, that timer can work during sleep (low power) and the interrupts will give you your countdown ticks.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
Also it has to be an MCU with low power consumption (nA) in sleep mode, like a PIC18.
Not really. Since you didn't name a specific chip, it is difficult to be specific; however, many PICs (e.g., the 12F1840) have sleep modes that draw the same or less current than a 18F2455 series for example.

ArakelTheDragon

Joined Nov 18, 2016
Not really. Since you didn't name a specific chip, it is difficult to be specific; however, many PICs (e.g., the 12F1840) have sleep modes that draw the same or less current than a 18F2455 series for example.
Why not really? I said "like a PIC18", not mandatory pick PIC18!

stregoi

Joined Jun 12, 2014
Thanks Guys ... To be specific, we are doing a small project to understand if a visual feedback helps surgeons to scrub their hands the right way ( it should be done in 2 min ).
So it is a Countdown timer connected to the handle of the alcohol dispenser. When a surgeon clics on the dispenser, the timer turns on and starts counting Down from 2:00 min to 0:00, when it is done the display is turned off.