Help solve Power Factor problem please explaining the concept?

ma88

Joined Oct 26, 2020
Nope, I'm preparing for an exam, and have no study material but the previous exam papers. and I'm stuck at some problems because my major isn't power electronics, I hope I can find some help here!, thanks

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
A school related question is still considered Homework.
Also, it would assist readers if you used a thread title that states what the thread is about.

RBR1317

Joined Nov 13, 2010
It's been a very long time since I ever looked at a power problem. Can anyone explain what Z1 & Z2 are meant to represent? Why is one a 3-terminal device and the other a 2-terminal device?

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
It's been a very long time since I ever looked at a power problem. Can anyone explain what Z1 & Z2 are meant to represent? Why is one a 3-terminal device and the other a 2-terminal device?
Z1 and Z2 both represent a complex impedance expressed in Cartesian form. The lower case j is the imaginary unit. Z1 has a single input and the output is connected to Z2 and Load A (they are the same point). Z2 has a single input from Z1 and an output that goes to Load B. A compex impedance has a real part which is equivalent to a frequency independent resistance, and an imaginary part which represents a frequency dependent reactance. The sign of the reactance describes either an inductor (positive) or a capacitor (negative).

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
If they are the same point, then why would they be drawn as separate points? Is that common practice for power circuits?