Help needed with LED light project

mike_drop

Joined Jan 7, 2018
Hi all,

I am looking to make a sort of table top light fixture out of this cool RCA tube tv circuit board. It is to my understanding there is no way to really light the tubes themselves, so my idea was to illuminate each tube from underneath with a bright LED. There are 17 tubes total, so it would be 17 LEDs used in a series circuit that’ll plug into and outlet. I’m very new to this DIY LED stuff and don’t want to get zapped or ruin the LEDs. I can’t seem to find the right info for exactly what I want to do so I’m hoping the experts here can help!

I’ve attached pictures of the TV circuit board I’ll be working with and the LEDs I’ve purchased and their specs. What I need to know is what kind of power supply you’d recommend for this set up, what kind of resistor(s) I’ll need, and where they’d go in the series. I’m happy to answer any questions and provide more info. I really appreciate you helping out a newb and hope this post isn’t a bother.

CFD4D0C2-13AB-4180-B803-D49C07F87FF0.jpeg 2FD5D964-6128-4F8C-918F-43B9D2F267F6.png 0AE93310-D50C-4963-8214-2D69B0277BF7.png 1A906207-1131-4F42-975D-F669B69CAD3C.png 3C65E8D2-C5FF-4AFF-930D-D0CC0506D6C1.png

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
You need a 12V power supply as each LED has an internal resistor to set the current already.
They will work ok on 9V I would think too.
make sure you wire then the correct way around.
To work out the current the supply needs, multiply the single LED current bu the number of the LEDS.
17LEDs at 20mA each
17 x 0.02 = 0.34amps or 340mA.
Use a 12V 1Amp supply.
If you have an old 19V laptop supply around, run 2 LEDs in series and they will have 9.5V each and that will most likly do.

Tonyr1084

Joined Sep 24, 2015