12V 2CH Relay RF Switch help needed connect simple light

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
i have a 12V 2CH Relay RF Switch purchased from
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/252791084300?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

and i connected the battery up and the remote is working as i click each button.

their are these connection sockets
no1, com1, nc1
no2, com2, nc2

am trying to connect a simple led light - + to it not lighting up.

connected - to no1 and + to nc1 or com1 tried all i can switched them around no light as i click remote button , when i connect light direct to battery it works.
what am i doing wrong please help.

2017-05-14_212934.jpg 2017-05-14_212942.jpg


please help am trying to get this to work cheers.
 

k7elp60

Joined Nov 4, 2008
555
Connect - lead of LED to - battery. Connect + lead of LED to no1, and + of battery to com1. When the relay is energized the LED will turn on.
When the relay is off the light will go off
 

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
stil not lighting up.

LED - to battery -
LED + to no1
Battery + direct to com1

stil i dont get no light when i press button i can se the receiver receives signal and i can hear the noise on the board.
 

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
4,667
Also, Rob, are you using any current limiting resistor for your led? It would be easy to setup if you are using breadboard.
 

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
i tried

LED - to battery -
LED + to no1
Battery - direct to com1

no light.

what am i doing wrong.
its simple led strip has a wire at the end - +

 

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
led strip yes if i connect direct to battery it works ,battery is powerfull enough to power this thing up.

i will try re-connecting again took wires off to show u how it is.2017-05-14_225330.jpg
 

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
4,501
You want it to look like this:
LED Relay.png

I have an older but similar 4 channel board. Mine came with LEDs which show when a relay is active. Down the road if you want you can solder a LED (with series resistor as needed) across the relay coil terminals on the board. They serve as an indicator that a relay is energized.

Ron
 

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
can u give me example like
LED - to battery -
LED + to no1
Battery - direct to com1

this way il understand easyly boss thanks
 

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
is this normal or defect.

batter + to bord power + and led +
battery - to board power -
led - to nc1

no light , but when i get another wire make connection from battery - to com1 it lights up even i dont press button i cant kill it with remote , is com1 bad or is it normal
 

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
4,667
I just did a quick simulation, I am having same problem, led does not light up. Here is interesting observation from the sim:
1. when Normally Open is open, I get 50 mV across led, not enough to turn it on
2. when I activate Normally Open (close it), I get 50 nV across led, not enough to turn it on

We are wiring it wrong. We are wiring it in parallel with Normally Open. We need to put led in series with Normally Open, but would channel too much current through led so we need current divider either in front of NO or after the NO.
 

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
4,501
can u give me example like
LED - to battery -
LED + to no1
Battery - direct to com1 This should read Battery + Com 1.

this way il understand easyly boss thanks
Actually you have it close but
Battery - direct to com1 This should read Battery + Com 1.

Everything else looks correct. There are a few ways to do it. The relay is only acting as a switch so you can switch Battery + or - to the LED.

Ron
 

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
thnks so much guys , it will be greate if u tell me how to do the wiring by -+

- to com1 etc
 

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
i have it like this

battery - to reciver power - & led -
battery + to receiver +
and a wire from receiver + to com1

now when i touch led + to nc1 light comes on regardless even i dont click the remote i cant turn it off by remote also.
 

shteii01

Joined Feb 19, 2010
4,667
Here is what I think it should be.

Battery- to GND on the board.
Battery+ to +V on the board.
Battery+ to Com1 on the board.
LED+ to NO1 on the board.
LED- to GND on the board.
 

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015
4,501
Power your board and as to the relay:

Battery + to Relay Com 1
Relay NO to LED + (LED Anode)
LED - (LED Cathode) to Battery -

That is all there is. It is a simple switch (the relay) powering your LED. Just make sure the LED Polarity is correct. This is what the drawing I posted earlier would look like.

Here is what I think it should be.

Battery- to GND on the board.
Battery+ to +V on the board.
Battery+ to Com1 on the board.
LED+ to NO1 on the board.
LED- to GND on the board.
That would be it. You can switch either side of the LED but the above will work just fine.

Ron
 

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
i will show u snapshot after i done the wireing and testing for both replies cheers.
 

Thread Starter

a Rob

Joined May 14, 2017
151
uploading video 40min made video.

i did exactly as u told me its not lighting up ,il post video once uploaded am pulling my hair here:(
 
Top