Help in repairing UC3842 Circuit

hazim

Joined Jan 3, 2008
Dear,
I'm a very old member, and just came back now to ask for your help.
I have an electronic 48V 30A battery charger. This charger had problem with UC3842 2 times and we repaced it each time and got the charger working again.

This time we replaced it and can't find any other bad component, but the charger is not working. The supply voltage on the IC (between pin 7 and 5) is varying from approx 11.5VDC to 13VDC. I measured about 2V AC on there, which seems DC voltage is not filtered well, so I changef the electrolytic capacitors and still have the same problem.

I'm an electronics engineer and can undertand your help easily in order to fix it.

Regards,
Hazim

Attachments

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
Below is the typical circuit from the datasheet. I have drawn a red box around the components I would check first. Remember your circuit may be the same as this but it is likely to be similar.
Clipboard01.jpg

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
OK. Now it gets trickier! Something is preventing the supply running, or shutting it down immediately it starts.
Shorted output rectifier or capacitor.
Open MOSFET.
Open or shorted component in the gate drive.

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
What's the resistance of the start up resistor, what is the HV supply voltage. Check for shorted diodes on the output and the primary of the transformer.

hazim

Joined Jan 3, 2008
Ok I found it, it was a shorted capacitor, it tested about 70 ohm, that was because the technician who tried to repair it before me melted the capacitor by mistake and made a short as shown in the picture.

Now the charger worked as it should and there is output voltage at the other side, about 59V, but the protection LEDs are on and the charger is not charging the batteries, on the display it gave 59V and 0A.

Attachments

hazim

Joined Jan 3, 2008
Your charger is rated at 48V and the PSU is giving out 59V, maybe it's too high.