Help identifying ceramic capacitor (I think?)

J3553

Joined Apr 27, 2020
Hi all, I'm an electrician so actually only have a fairly basic grasp of electronic circuitry. I have a Panasonic LED tv which is blowing the fuse 10a on the power board as soon as voltage (240v, I'm in New Zealand) is applied. I've had a quick look over the board and there appears to be a dead short on this capacitor.
Doing a bit of painstaking Googling of the 3R9 code leads me to believe it is a 3.9pf capacitor, but is there any other information on the code below which I'm missing?

I can't seem to find an example of the exact cap anywhere online. Can anyone suggest a replacement?

Pic attached. Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Jesse

20200428_133137.jpg

J3553

Joined Apr 27, 2020
I've had another check and located what is definitely a MOV further back near the fuse etc.
I'll add a couple of photos in the hope someone may have some ideas..

20200428_163541.jpg

20200428_163550.jpg

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
That part marked 3R9 is definitely broken. Notice the swelling in the vacinity of the crack? Maybe you had a nearby lightning strike.

If these are MOVs then you can temporarily remove them without much worry of further damage since MOVs should only be active under unusual circumstances, and see whether removing them solves the fuse blowing problem.

By the way, your photographs are way above average and that makes things a lot easier.

sagor

Joined Mar 10, 2019
The ZNR is definitely a MOV type of surge/transient absorption device. So, the other device may be another MOV, not likely, but possible, or more likely a Thermistor to limit inrush current as Alberthall says.

J3553

Joined Apr 27, 2020
I think it is an NTC thermistor with a cold resistance of 3.9Ω, used as an inrush current limiter.
Thanks for the reply. This may be taking me down the right path. Done some more googling, still can't find the exact same component with the codes, but do you think NTC or PTC?