help-first project 20v dc power supply for amplifier

tetropteryx

Joined Oct 18, 2023
I am pretty new to this stuff so im expecting that ive made allot of mistakes.
This is a circuit I piedec together from video guides and internet searches.
source voltage is in bottom left, 20 volt dc, there is a conversion to 9v dc for the 55 timer and the preamp and overdrive circuits (not pictured here) then im using mosfets to create 20v ac with a square wave. then im rectifying for +20v, 0v, -20v
any advice opinions and warnings about how it will all catch fire would be appreciated, also im really unsure on some of the resistor, diode, and capacitor sizes in the square wave inverter/rectifier.

Attachments

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!
using mosfets to create 20v ac with a square wave. then im rectifying for +20v, 0v, -20v
If you're starting with a 20V supply, why aren't you just using it for the amplifier? To get -20V, I'd use an inverting switching regulator.

What is your amplifier's sensitivity to supply noise?

This is the basic topology for making an inverting switching regulator:
1697680264484.png
You change the ratio of R1 and R2 to get a different voltage. You haven't mentioned current requirement, so can't give more detailed information.

tetropteryx

Joined Oct 18, 2023
Welcome to AAC!

If you're starting with a 20V supply, why aren't you just using it for the amplifier? To get -20V, I'd use an inverting switching regulator.

What is your amplifier's sensitivity to supply noise?

This is the basic topology for making an inverting switching regulator:
View attachment 305294
You change the ratio of R1 and R2 to get a different voltage. You haven't mentioned current requirement, so can't give more detailed information.
I didn't know they existed. My Google Foo failed me.
This looks great. Current requirement are 1.5 amps rms 3 amps peak I think.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
My Google Foo failed me.
It helps if you know what to search for.