Help figuring out components for DC to AC conversion system

O.hemionus

Joined Aug 3, 2017
Hi, I am new to the forum and looking for help for a project I am working on. First off, I am not an engineer, and have VERY little electrical experience, but I am more than willing to learn. Any help would be appreciated. It is hard to describe the project in the title, so here it goes:

I work for a state wildlife agency and am trying to put together a system for scaring elk and deer out of crop fields. I recently purchased a blower fan and an inflatable air dancer (the kind you see used for advertising at car lots and parking lot sales). The blower fan that inflates the air dancer runs off of a 110V AC system, which wouldn't be a problem if most crop fields had a power supply near by, but they usually don't. So, I want to rig up a system so that I can use this elk deterrent in remote locations. I envision the system going like this:

Solar charger--->12 V battery--->inverter--->timer (I want the fan to run approx. 15 min. every hour or so, rather than continuously)--->blower fan--->air dancer.

I know that for most of you (or all of you), this is a REALLY simple project and probably has a simple solution, but I don't have the expertise yet. I have done quite a bit of research on my own, but still have several questions as to which specific components I should purchase for this project. As a starting point, the blower fan is a 4.0 Amp, 110v/60HZ, 1/3HP fan (at some point I may want to switch to a larger fan that requires 6.2 amps and is 1 HP, so keeping this in mind would be helpful). Below, I have listed several questions I have about the system (I know, it is a lot of questions, sorry - I'm inexperienced). I am also trying to put together this project on a budget, so am not looking to spend thousands of dollars on very fancy circuitry. Any suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks!