Heating element for 12v 10w power supply

darpanarora

Joined Apr 30, 2017
URGENT:
Hi guys,
I am an architecture student proposing a self-sufficient hydronic heating for buildings for a final project. Basically I have a 12V 10W DC micro-hydro turbine that I am using.. this one-
https://www.amazon.com/Turbine-Generator-Micro-hydro-Charging-Charger/dp/B01M8NQHWT

I want to connect a heating coil or a wire that could heat up in about 5-10min or sooner. Any suggestions what can I use? Can i directly connect a nichrome wire 1'0" long to the wires? will that heat up?

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
It depends on the diameter of the wire. To use the full output you need a resistance of 14.4 ohms. (R = V^2/p = 12^2/10 =144/10 = 14.4 ohms)You need to find a nichrome wire with a resistance of 14.4 ohms per foot. (Or as close as you can get from standard wire gauges.) If you plan to use the water supply to drive the turbine it is probably not legal. (It is not in the UK.)

Les.

darpanarora

Joined Apr 30, 2017
Thank you Les for your reply. This is a just a project proposal for a sustainable energy project. I am just building a prototype. 34 guage nichrome (0.13mm thick) has 16 ohms/foot resistance. Will it heat if I directly connect to the wires output from the turbine (as in the link)? Thank you again :)

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Will it heat if I directly connect to the wires output from the turbine (as in the link)?
Every resistance will heat when current flows through it. What you have not told us is how hot you want it.
You have 10 watts to work with. You can buy a 15 ohm resistor and it will heat exactly as much as 15 ohms of nichrome wire. The surface area has a lot to do with how much heat radiates and is thus lost to the air. What is your goal?

darpanarora

Joined Apr 30, 2017