Heating control of a Induction Heater

aadi2096

Joined Nov 13, 2019
Hi Guys,
I have been looking around and working with the ZVS IH for a while now. But the problem is that it needs huge current in low voltage. I was thinking of a High voltage Low current IH. But couldn't find any thing good. My main motto here is to control the heating effect. I am trying to maintain a perticular temperature of a specimen. I am not trying to red hot my work piece. I am trying to make a portable heater. It doesn't have to be more than 500W, but with controlled heating. I have seen those small and economical IH kits(Chinese ones) but I couldn't find any control circuits to use with them.
I have found this NXP link but it uses only single IGBT?
https://www.nxp.com/docs/en/application-note/AN5030.pdf
I am a bit confused here. I am sorry, I am still new to this power electronics stuff. In short I have 2 questions.
1) How can I control the IH power consumption to control the heating?
2) Is it possible to make a low current high voltage IH?
Thanks

BobaMosfet

Joined Jul 1, 2009
induction heaters use current- that's how they work. They are (technically) a controlled short circuit. Instead, if your sample is small, I recommend you use a peltier device.

aadi2096

Joined Nov 13, 2019
Maybe you could turn it on and off, PWM style, to contol the effective power?
Thanks for the suggestion. I think that will affect the working of the ZVS all together. Those will create high noise if kept before current enters the ZVS. And I don't think this will work in middle of ZVS.

aadi2096

Joined Nov 13, 2019
induction heaters use current- that's how they work. They are (technically) a controlled short circuit. Instead, if your sample is small, I recommend you use a peltier device.