Grounded load at the output of op-amp.

Roma Kolevatov

Joined Jun 26, 2018
Hi everyone. I am a beginner in circuits.
I try to make a circuit that contains the inverting and non-inverting op-amps. Namely, I use AD797 op-amps. I looked in the Data Sheet for AD797 (find in the attachment), and on the diagram for recommended inverting amplifier connection it has grounded 600 Ohm load after the output. What is the purpose of this grounded load and do I need to insert this load in my circuit? Thanks in advance!

Attachments

Roma Kolevatov

Joined Jun 26, 2018
See the “L” subscript on R(L)? That’s to represent whatever load you place on the output. It’s not a required component.
Thanks for the answer. The thing is they also recommend to use ``load'' capacitance C(L) in some connections. In this case, it is a required component. Look, for instance, at the recommended connection for the non-inverting configuration. They add C(L) in parallel intentionally.

So, I was confused by this. C_L is a required component, but R_L is not required, am I right?

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
Thanks for the answer. The thing is they also recommend to use ``load'' capacitance C(L) in some connections. In this case, it is a required component. Look, for instance, at the recommended connection for the non-inverting configuration. They add C(L) in parallel intentionally.

So, I was confused by this. C_L is a required component, but R_L is not required, am I right?
Well some load may be required but the exact value shouldn’t matter much between some max and min value.

It's "difficult" for an OP-amp to drive capacitance loads therefor a max CL is usually specified. It may oscillate and do wierd things

The capacitors on the power supply are called "Bypass Capacitors". Usually you follow the manufacturer's advice and usually they are between 0.1 and 1 uF ceramic caps. They should be placed as close to the power pins as possible.