Ground size proportional to Voltage/Current?

Leikrod

Joined Oct 10, 2017
Hello, I recently joined ALL ABOUT CIRCUITS.Since am new I will introduce myself .I will start by saying I'm studying at George. T Baker Technical College to become an Avionics Technician. The Courses I have complete are DC, AC, Analog, Digital, Microprocessors; 68000,8085 , 8086, and 8051. I'm half way thru avionics. RF Communication, Microwave,and Fiber optics are the next courses to complete and be able to graduate. I'm also working as a Production Technician. My desire is to become and electrical engineer and will be counting on the info I find here to hep me.Once in a while I forget little details so, I decided to make this into a hobby. I would also like to little by little get rid of all my doubts and have a stronger foundation.
I know the positive side of the power source lacks electrons and the negative has an excess amount of electrons so, electrons flow from negative to positive to fill the gaps.The voltage would be the potential for that flow(correct me in anything that is incorrect please). Now, +5V connected in series to a 100ohm resistor and then to ground is 50mA with that pass thru the connection and 250mW is felt on the resistor. Would it make a difference in the size of the ground if I change the voltage hypothetically to +5000V or even higher. My thought process is that the current would definitely increase creating more power on the resistor but is the ground affected at all? I need a better understanding of ground, from what I know there is two types 1- connected to the negative side of the power source and other one just to a conductive material/metal. Another question would be.. in the first one the electrons go back to the battery but in the second one;the ground that I suppose has a deficit of electrons and as they pass thru it and fill the holes.. will it come a point that the electrons are much more that it can handle?