Gerber files directly from the positives ?

FredTheRedneck

Joined May 14, 2020
Hi Everyone! I am new to this allaboutcircuits site and the Forum, so please bear with me.

I want to produce some Gerber Files for machine work for some old graphic positives which I hand made years ago thru MSPAINT The positives were used in the Xerox Overhead Projector Film method to transfer the ink images onto the PCB by heat press.

QUESTION: Does anyone know of a simple method to create Gerber files directly from the positives without having to write a file by redrawing the circuits in a PCB Creation program?

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Hi Everyone! I am new to this allaboutcircuits site and the Forum, so please bear with me.

I want to produce some Gerber Files for machine work for some old graphic positives which I hand made years ago thru MSPAINT The positives were used in the Xerox Overhead Projector Film method to transfer the ink images onto the PCB by heat press.

QUESTION: Does anyone know of a simple method to create Gerber files directly from the positives without having to write a file by redrawing the circuits in a PCB Creation program?
Only if you have a way to scan the positives. You might be able to turn the scan into something, but would it have the right level of precision.

FredTheRedneck

Joined May 14, 2020

I like the responses and appreciate them: BUT I don't have a lead that will allow me to align the drill holes (most of them) and have them embedded into the program for drilling by machine. A program that will allow me to import the image of the PCB and align most of the holes would be great. If then I could re-certify the drill holes onto a vector that would be perfect. Does anyone know a program that will do that?

FredTheRedneck

Joined May 14, 2020
Take a look at this link.

https://nitkin.net/2016/3/graphic-copper-kicad

I am not sure that is qualified as easy but it does seem possible from a bitmap file.