Fuelab Prodigy Series Pump and Driver via Arduino

rennie1080

Joined Apr 10, 2017
Hi Everyone

I have a fuel pump for a vehicle that allows its speed to be controlled by a varying PWM signal with positive voltage. It operates in the range of 500-1500Hz frequency.

Does any Arduino circuit exist that converts a 0-5 volt input to a PWM signal output in a way that allows the user to program how much the pwm signal will be affected by each voltage change? I want to add also a pot that control the speed. I'm new to Arduino and am watching / reading tutorials, so I would sincerely appreciate any help because I'm trying to get this vehicle running asap.

upload_2018-7-31_8-24-6.png
upload_2018-7-31_8-24-25.png

danadak

Joined Mar 10, 2018
Something like this. You have a conflicting requirement, you want to
control fuel pump by voltage and by pot/speed, which is it ? IF its
just pot then eliminate the diff channel used and just use the one
single ended channel of the SAR

upload_2018-7-31_6-48-23.png

Board to use $4 -

http://www.cypress.com/documentation/development-kitsboards/psoc-4-cy8ckit-049-4xxx-prototyping-kits

Code woul be fairly straightforward, read the A/D value for V, left shift it by 4 bits, and write
to PWM compare register. If you want the pot to control it read pot V, left shift value by 4
bits, and write to PWM compare register. Left shift is to handle fact that SAR is 12 bits,
PWM 16, and you want to write SAR value to MSBs of PWM.

You might have to place diode protection on inputs, cars power circuits very nolsy, maybe
even experiment with RC low pass filter on inputs to achieve noise reduction. or use A/D averaging
over many cycles. Thats a setting in SAR configuration.

PWM set to 1 KHZ. See attached

Regards, Dana.

Attachments

Last edited:

rennie1080

Joined Apr 10, 2017
Hi , thank you for your answer.