Flashing firmare for usbasp device (no schematics)

ModestasK

Joined Dec 31, 2018
Hello,
I am pretty new to embedded development so wonder if I could help over here.
I have recently bought new programmer (usbasp), but can't get it working - when connecting to windows machine I am always getting an error that says "Unknown USB Device (Device Descriptor Request Failed)". Tried various things really... downloaded drivers, tried installing manually, automatically and by trying to pick the inf file myself but all times it failed. I am guessing that I am missing the firmware or at least need to flash it with new one.
My device looks like this:
upload_2018-12-31_9-13-19.png
I have marked the 5 pins - the problematic spot. I could not find schematics for this anywhere. The only schematics I found was for 3 pin programmer that is identical to this, but has 3 pins instead of 5 in the marked area.
upload_2018-12-31_9-14-1.png

And for some reasons - all different models of usbasp is called same - "usbasp" :] (should have probably asked the seller if he also have the schematics, but... I did not...)
I also have raspberry 3, which I used for programming my atmega328p, so I could probably flash the usbasp programmer as well.... just not really sure where to start and how to do it properly...
Any advice or pointing to the right direction would be appreciated.

Thanks!
M

Attachments

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
Here is a schematic I found on the web.

AC-PG-USBASP_03_LRG.jpg
Yours may be slightly different. I have used mine with Windows XP and Windows 7 without any problems. You don't say which version of windows you used.

Les.

ModestasK

Joined Dec 31, 2018
Here is a schematic I found on the web.

View attachment 166806
Yours may be slightly different. I have used mine with Windows XP and Windows 7 without any problems. You don't say which version of windows you used.

Les.
Thanks Les.