Fixed Ratio, Unregulated 2:1 DC DC Converter for DC Generator

Stainy98

Joined Jan 26, 2024
Hi all,

I'm a power electronics engineer but currently doing a project which will involve driving a scalextric car using a pedal generator, for a school fair STEM/engineering demo.
As part of this I need a way to step down the generator (DC brushed) at a fixed ratio of 2:1, as the generator is rated 35V, but the track needs 15V maximum otherwise the cars will be way too fast. I want it to operate down to low voltages and the converter to be unregulated, acting like an AC transformer would. I.e faster you pedal the generator, faster the car goes.
I could build a fixed duty cycle step down buck in CCM but I want to save time and to make it more polished, buy in a converter which will do it for me.
Trouble is the only ones I can find are either low power (<3W) or designed for IBMs and have low voltage cutoffs. I need around 10-20W, 2:1 ratio step down, which operates down to as low voltage as possible. I mean a 5-35V or more input voltage range. Basically a DC version of an AC transformer.

Anyone have any ideas??

Thanks very much for your time

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
Buck converters do not work that way. They will only give the expected output, based on duty cycle, when running in continuous mode. And that will not happen with an input and load varying the way you need.

Stainy98

Joined Jan 26, 2024
Buck converters do not work that way. They will only give the expected output, based on duty cycle, when running in continuous mode. And that will not happen with an input and load varying the way you need.