First time making a PCB for motor running bot.What to do with Capacitors? and basic pcb question

May-En Liu

Joined Apr 20, 2017
Hi guys,

So this is my first time posting here. My apologies if I'm in the wrong sub forum.

I'm making this line follower robot with the L293D IC for the motor driver and the Hex inverter IC for the logical decisions, anyways as I was making my pcb, I read online some tips that power fluctuations may happen and cause my bot to perform not as I want it to.

Besides designing my PCB with no 90 degree angles, daisy chains, etc. I came a cross an article that said that capacitors, even just the 0.1mF ceramic ones(after filtering the power through the 5 volt regulator) would help lessen the ripples if I put one capacitor per IC. So I stuck one of those for the L293D

I'm using twp 9 volt batteries. One is for powering the pcb itself and the other is for the L293D's 8th pin to power the motors.

The Hex inverter itself has no capacitor.

Here's where I'm a little lost.

1) Should I add another 0.1mF capacitor just for the hex inverter?
2) Should I add a capacitor from the 9 volt battery before connecting it to the L293D's 8th pin? If I should, is 16v 100mF capacitor too much for a 9 volt power supply?

I'm trying to decide if I should up the power to 18 volts(max for pin 8 is 36volts), but I have 2x16v 100mF. Will it work if I line those 2 capacitors up?

3)If no. 2 doesn't work, what capacitor should I get for my 9volt battery?
4)Here's my PCB design(is it alright or am I doing something that could lead to poor connection/results?)
423.png 32.png

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
In a motor application, I would include decoupling capacitors on every IC. Hence, you'll need one for your hex inverter.

A large capacitor across your power supply is not a bad idea. 47μF for example.

Secondly, a 7404 Hex Invertor IC is a TTL chip. It's maximum supply voltage is 5VDC. You are mentioning much higher voltages. How are you reconciling this?