Filter design / signal conditioning for a full-bridge sensor amplifier

Juha Haaja

Joined Oct 3, 2016
Hello,

I am trying to build an amplifier circuit to use with a full-bridge extensometer. I have managed to get the amplifier to work but am now facing a problem with EMC issues. I need to use the extensometer in a AC magnetic field which has a frequency of approximately 230 kHz. The magnetic field couples to the sensor nicely even though the cable is shielded and the shield is grounded.

I have tried low pass filters on the inputs to the differential amplifier with little success. The amplifier I am using is Texas Instruments INA122PA. I am using high amplification (~500) to reduce the effect of the noise from the low quality ADC used to capture the signal to a computer.

I'm not very experienced in this stuff so any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

ci139

Joined Jul 11, 2016
the instrumentation amps are usually precise but slow - your's uses low power - and you have a huge gain (to be followed precisely ? by a single op amp)
  • usually you need your output to follow the input fast -- requires -- fast amplifier -- usually requires moderate to high power to drive the output "reliably"
  • the low noise amplifier does not mean low power
the schematic shows capacitors from inputs of your gain 500 to "common rail" or "signal ground" what if they are not homogeneous throughout the DC voltage scale and add extra surprises at frequency scale
The magnetic field couples to the sensor nicely
so you take it as a part of setup ? substract it from your signal at some point - if that 230kHz may vary a lot i don't want to be in your shoes

(PS! i have little to null practice in this field - analog signal processing - though i might've read some docs)

Juha Haaja

Joined Oct 3, 2016