FE Exam questions/preparation/advice

LymanT

Joined Sep 25, 2014
Hey guys,

I been really considering trying to get my FE for awhile now. Although it's been close to 4 years since I graduated, I feel it will help me greatly in the future. However, I don't really know where to start. My degree is in B.S in EET. I have the outline for the Electrical and Computer CBT and it covers a great deal of material I've forgotten throughout the years, maybe even don't remember learning about. I know this is going to take some time(half to a year) to be fully prepared. I wanted to know how those of you that have your FE/PE prepared for the exam, how it has helped you in your field, and would you recommend pursuing the license? I have some technician experience but I want to one day be an EE. I eventually want to go back to school for Systems Engineering or something similar, but that won't be some time. Any advice and motivation would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
In most EE-related fields the FE/PE is irrelevant. There are some specific areas where that isn't true. Having said that, having more credentials in your kit is seldom a bad thing.

I took the FE exam as a graduating senior and I think that is by far the best time to take it. It may have changed significantly since I took it (over a quarter century ago) so keep that in mind, but it covered a very broad range of topics (with the understanding that any given person was expected to be weak in several of the areas). So taking it when the bulk of your education in all of those other areas is still reasonably close at hand is a big help. But back then there was a single FE exam (it had just changed from being called the EIT exam) and now there are half a dozen or so specific categories, so that may not be as useful as it used to be.