Fast circuit for microsecond timing

Stubby5000

Joined Sep 11, 2018
First let me just say that I’m a physician, not an electrical engineer, so I recognize that I’m way out of my league when it comes to the technical aspects of this forum. However, I’m eager to learn so if you’ll indulge my ignorance, I’d like to explain my project and you tell me what you think...

Basically I’m interested in creating a fast circuit that is capable of measuring timeframes with microsecond resolution (even as much as 50 microsecond resolution would probably be acceptable). The circuit would need to record the amount of time between when a microphone emits a sound and when that sound wave echos back (essentially echolocation). I’m interested in creating a circuit that is as cheap as possible, while still being reliable and accurate.

I’m finding it difficult to wrap my mind around the technical aspects of this circuit. I think I would need an analog to time converter, and then maybe a 555 timer? This is the part where I need expert assistance, thus why I’m on this forum. ;-)

Thanks for any assistance you might be able to provide.

KeithWalker

Joined Jul 10, 2017
First let me just say that I’m a physician, not an electrical engineer, so I recognize that I’m way out of my league when it comes to the technical aspects of this forum. However, I’m eager to learn so if you’ll indulge my ignorance, I’d like to explain my project and you tell me what you think...

Basically I’m interested in creating a fast circuit that is capable of measuring timeframes with microsecond resolution (even as much as 50 microsecond resolution would probably be acceptable). The circuit would need to record the amount of time between when a microphone emits a sound and when that sound wave echos back (essentially echolocation). I’m interested in creating a circuit that is as cheap as possible, while still being reliable and accurate.