Engineering Assistant correct definition

Dritech

Joined Sep 21, 2011
Hi all,

i worked as a student with engineers in a Quality Assurance department at a local company.
Is it correct if I say that I worked as an Engineering Assistant?

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
only you know if that is true or a stretch of the facts. I would suggest you list the time spent as QC work. Quality control jobs pay very well.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
If you were assisting engineers then you can state you were working as an engineering assistant.

Anything you put on your resume is a subject for follow up questions so be prepared.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I had a problem with this. I was a QC person. The engineers eventually made a habit of sending me all the new product designs and I would ferret out the mistakes before they went to production. After I received my annual raise (5 cents an hour), I said, "I'm working as an Engineering Assistant, how about giving me the title and the pay?" They said, "No" and I quit.

This story illustrates the problem you might have if you SAY you were an Engineering Assistant but the Corporation can't legally allow that for fear of having to pay you for the job you were actually doing. Tread carefully, it could get nasty.

Dritech

Joined Sep 21, 2011
I had a problem with this. I was a QC person. The engineers eventually made a habit of sending me all the new product designs and I would ferret out the mistakes before they went to production. After I received my annual raise (5 cents an hour), I said, "I'm working as an Engineering Assistant, how about giving me the title and the pay?" They said, "No" and I quit.

This story illustrates the problem you might have if you SAY you were an Engineering Assistant but the Corporation can't legally allow that for fear of having to pay you for the job you were actually doing. Tread carefully, it could get nasty.
But at that time I was still a student so I cannot say that I worked as an Engineer.