Electronics beginner

b.man58

Joined Dec 30, 2015
Hi folks...
I am just starting out in electronics and am taking a home study course. The subject material provided is questionable and confusing by times. I tried calling a course advisor, who obviously was reading out of a prescripted manual and by the time I finished, I was worse off.
Anyway, could someone please help me with the following including a step by step solving process.
Q: what is the maximum current recommendation for a 1200-ohm, 1/4-watt resistor that is designed to work at 100% of its rating...using the formula I = (square root of) P/R?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Write the formula that was given to you: I = radical (P/R)
Place the given number for power (1/4 watt) in the place where, "P" is.
Place the given number for resistance (1200 ohms) in the place where "R" is.
Use your calculator to solve for P/R
Use your calculator's square root button to find the square root.
Write the answer.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Feel free to play around with the concepts a bit. You don't have to just plug things into a formula that's been handed to you.

First, get a feel for the numbers involved.

Let's say that the current is 1 A. Can you figure out how much power that would dissipate in that resistor? If you need to, feel free to use the formula

P = I²·R

If that turns out to be more than the 1/4 W limit, then does the allowed current need to be more or less than 1 A. Repeat this for some other currents, such as 1 mA and then 10 mA. See if you can make successively better estimates of what current will result in 1/4 W being dissipated in the resistor.

Now you might do something similar, but instead of considering the current through the resistor, play with the voltage across the resistor. Let's say the voltage across it is 1 V. Is that enough to dump 1/4 W into the resistor? Or is it too much. Feel free to use the formula

P = V²/R

See if you can walk into the needed voltage in just a few more iterations.