Electronics, 43 years ago

schmitt trigger

Joined Jul 12, 2010
Found this magazine, from exactly 43 years ago.
What a blast from the past!

Not going to describe all the contents, but one can see that personal computers, although expensive, were starting to dominate consumer electronics.

Attachments

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
I lived it. Started working in the field in 1977 1976 after I got my ASEET degree. We built an Altair 8800 as a class project from a kit my last year.

Last edited:

schmitt trigger

Joined Jul 12, 2010
Indeed, there were plenty of excellent magazines catering to every hobby and taste under the sun.

In the US, the largest electronics-enthusiast oriented were Popular Electronics and Radio-Electronics, but there were at least half a dozen smaller ones.
Popular Electronics was the one with the largest circulation, but -in my opinion- made a huge mistake when it changed its name to Computer and Electronics. Byte magazine was the leader in that segment.

Jerry-Hat-Trick

Joined Aug 31, 2022
In the UK the nearest hobby electronics magazine to professional was Wireless World - founded in the days when electroncs mostly meant wireless. My understanding is that radio amateurs were behind many ground breaking developments. I was told that they developed RS232 but I can't get that confirmed these days on the internet.

I do know that Arthur C Clarke who came up with the idea of geostationary satellites could not get it published in a "serious" physics/scientific journal so it was first piblished in Wireless World. They did a 50th anniversary reprint, around 1995 I believe. I had a copy, sadly no more, must stop throwing stuff out....

Ian0

Joined Aug 7, 2020