Electronic ground and Earth

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by clyevo, Oct 30, 2016.

1. clyevo

Thread Starter New Member

Oct 30, 2016
    Hi i am new to this forum. I am not an electronic engineer but have an interest in this area as a hobby.
    I have a question that left unanswered even though i scoured the vast internet for the answer
    I have an electronic device which is powered via AC to DC power supply. What happen if the PCB board ground terminal is connected to metal casing via the stand off nut. And in turn the casing is connected to earth of the AC power. Will there be any problem such as leaking current that can damaged the electronic components?

Thanks

2. dl324

AAC Fanatic!

Mar 30, 2015
    Welcome to AAC!
    All that does is connect circuit ground to earth ground.

3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    If proper galvanic isolation exists on the unit then it is not always necessary to connect to earth ground, especially if after the isolation it reverts to low voltage, but if the unit does have the common of the DC grounded it is not usually a problem, is this already in place? or something you are thinking of doing?
    What is your location?
    Max.

4. clyevo

Oct 30, 2016
    yes this is what i mean, should i try to isolate the stand off nut (DC ground) of the pcb board from the earth shielded chasis

5. clyevo

Oct 30, 2016
    the problem with the chasis is it contains AC powered motor which is earth grounded, so when the AC powered motor is bolted to the chasis, the chasis is earth grounded. I am concern that the electronic component has DC ground (common) leak to the earth grounded chasis. If it does, will that be a problem?

6. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    It should not be a problem IMO.
    What exactly is the 'Electronic component' consist of?
    Earth is just a reference point, normally there is no 'leakage'.
    Max.

7. clyevo

Oct 30, 2016