EGT/Thermocouple mV to V can bus

turtletooned

Joined Nov 5, 2017
Looking to take K-Type EGT mV input and convert the signal to Volts. After conversion I would like to program a mcp2515 to transmit over canbus at .5 or 1.0 meg speed. I have only at the moment the Can Module stated and the canbus addresses I need to send to.

This is my first post ever and also project. NOOB

By trade I am a engine calibrator and this is something I just found recently as even being a possibility. I look forward to trying new to me things:)

Thanks in advance

turtletooned

Joined Nov 5, 2017
Dendad I appreciate the insight and links. I have been searching here and there for quite some time. I think maybe I forget the more is less when searching theory on occasion.

I had hoped this wasn't something too advanced for a first project. I am going to make a ethanol analyzer today and a pair of knock ears to play with on the dyno. But this is just copying others work.

Regardless should be fun and although all this is quite new to me I am pretty sharp in my profession so hopefully I have a opportunity to help someone with something at some point.

Thanks Again!!

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
There are lots of sites to help learn Arduinos. Abd after that, there are many more powerful boards to try if your interest goes that way. But Arduino is easy and cheap way to start. And a lot of fun too :)
Maybe buy an Arduino Starter Kit?
I wish you well on this adventure.

turtletooned

Joined Nov 5, 2017
When I have looked at starter kits I have only seen very basic ones that don't really interest me as far as the project is concerned. ie a blinking led. Maybe its best to start with something at this level or maybe I am not looking in the right places. Either way I will search a little more for others.

Attached is what I have to work with ATM

Thanks again for the support

Attachments

dendad

Joined Feb 20, 2016
The UNO and the Pro are pretty similar, just packaging differences mainly.