DSO138 trigger understanding

OoDeLally

Joined Oct 17, 2023
Hello,
I'm originally a software developer and on the side a (mediocre) self-taught electronic hobbyist.
I recently acquired a DSO138 to better see what is going on in my little electronic projects.
I've read the DSO138 manuals and tutorial upside down, and yet there are a few things I cannot understand regarding the trigger feature.

My playground is pretty simple, I have a 5v source, which is conditionally sent to the DSO138 probe through either a on-off button or a potentiometer.
I am setting the DSO138's trigger settings on NORM (UP) 1.0V, and I was hoping the screen would refresh everytime I press the button (providing 5V), or raise the potentiometer above 1V. This does not happen. Instead, the curve is frozen (the DSO138 is in "Running" mode) and never refreshed, regardless of my actions.
Untitled.png

- Is Auto/Norm/Sing only working for repetitive signal e.g. square/sin/saw signal ? Or can I use it to capture a single wave form when it occurs?
- What is the rational that makes the trigger level change with the sensitivity/vertical scale, and not stay the same value?
- The left arrow seems to be a calibration for 0V. Why is the right arrow (trigger level) moving with it? imho it should not be linked to the left arrow, but snap to the grid according to the chosen value. Because my DSO138 has almost 1 division vertical offset, the right arrow's position seems pretty useless, as one cannot directly use its position to infer the value.
- Why dont I obtain the behavior I expect?

Thanks a bunch!

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Welcome to AAC.

Triggering happens when the voltage of the waveform passes through the value set, rising or falling depending on the selection.

If you want to be able to see a button press or other relatively long, single event you need to use Single mode for the trigger. It will capture the waveform it sees over the span represented by the full screen.