DS1102E digital noise on display waveform

MikeyChris

Joined Mar 10, 2018
Hello. I just bought a Rigol DS1102E 100Mhz dual trace scope for a great price ($299 new, on eBay TEquipment.net) and am very happy with the "bang for the buck". The only downside I have seen so far is that there is about 20mV of noise riding on the displayed waveform. It appears to be random asynchronous digital noise, i.e. when magnified the noise appears to be moving pulses of very small amplitude. I have watched several videos that feature this scope, and there seems to be this same noise in those videos, but the noise appears to be only about half the amount I am seeing. Of course this is a very subjective judgement on my part - allowing for the resolution of the video, etc. Be that as it may, I was wondering if any of you guys that own this scope (or have used one of them) has any comments on the display noise. It doesn't adversely affect what I do (I am a retired engineer who has decided to get back into the hobby of electronics tinkering - blame it on Arduino!). Thanx for your comments. The pic below shows the noise, albeit not as sever as it appears in "real life".
Noise.jpg

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
In order to make a proper judgement call, we need to know more about your setup and what you are measuring.

What kind of probe are you using?
Does the probe have a x1 and x10 setting?
What is the probe setting?
Does the probe have a grounding clip?
Where is the grounding clip connected?

What is the source of the signal you are measuring?
Is the BW Limit option on the input channel ON or OFF?
What happens if you change the BW limit to ON?

Try this test.
With no signal connect to the probe, connect the grounding clip to the probe tip.
Turn your CH1 VOLTS/DIV to the lowest setting in order to measure the smallest amplitude.
Show us what the screen trace looks like.

Danko

Joined Nov 22, 2017
This noise becomes from high frequency environmental electromagnetic waves.