Dot matrix printer: finding where the smoke came out

Speculatrix

Joined Mar 30, 2018
I just first say I'm a beginner and (keen but not experienced) amateur at electronics.

I have a 35 year-old Epson MX-80 dot matrix printer that I'm trying to bring back to life. A while back it started issuing thick smoke plus a bit of crackling. I powered it down straight away. My suspicion was dried-out caps even though the main caps on the power supply looked fine. To be on the safe side I chose to replace them anyway. But having taken the old caps off the board and tested them, they are responding perfectly well – my DMM says they're holding the rated capacitance.

Also, the smoke residue on the underside of the Epson's upper case somewhat suggests the smoke may have come from the transformer. I've stared and stared at the damn thing but can't see any obvious issue.

So my inclination is to do the following:
  • Without putting the main circuit board back in, apply power to the printer and see if the transformer starts smoking.
  • If it doesn't, start probing the cables coming from the transformer to see what voltages they're providing.
But before I do that, can I ask the greybeards around here – am I nuts? Is this a sensible course of action?

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
I have an old signal generator that one day produced a lot of white smoke. It took me a while to find the culprit - the interference suppressor connected across the mains input. The case was cracked but it certainly didn't look like it had produced all that smoke.

Have a look for such a supressor.

Speculatrix

Joined Mar 30, 2018
Have a look for such a supressor.
Yeah, I think I know what you're referring to. The mains comes in and is routed to a separate board with three caps – two 4700pF and one 0.1µF – the main switch and a fuse. Then the wires route straight into the transformer. This small board looks in fine fettle and is some distance from the smoke residue.

Speculatrix

Joined Mar 30, 2018