DFF using Mux - did I do it right?

nettek

Joined Jun 4, 2018
I am studying for an interview for FPGA engineer (first time position) and am trying to solve some problems/questions in preparation.
One question I encountered was implementing a D Flip Flop using a Mux.
I did it this way, but haven't seen any solution that resembles my own, so I wanted to ask if it is okay, and if I haven't missed anything.

DFF-MUX.JPG

D is basically the selector for the first Mux, and if clk is '1', then the result goes to Q. if clk is '0', Q stays at it's current state.

I wanted to also ask something else - how do you approach digital design questions? I am having a hard time with this. I barely know how to begin, and am trying to answer by trial and error. Is there some way to approach them logically?

Thank you!

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
What type of multiplexer is this?
Your circuit requires a digital one with an active output such as an 74HC157, not a switch feedthrough type, which many CMOS types are.
But that may be what a FPGA mux is.
With such a digital mux your circuit should work (see LTspice simulation below).

But what's the purpose of the mux on the left?
Can't you just feed the D input directly to the second mux?

upload_2018-10-6_19-25-59.png

Last edited:

Deleted member 115935

Joined Dec 31, 1969
I am studying for an interview for FPGA engineer (first time position) and am trying to solve some problems/questions in preparation.
One question I encountered was implementing a D Flip Flop using a Mux.
I did it this way, but haven't seen any solution that resembles my own, so I wanted to ask if it is okay, and if I haven't missed anything.

View attachment 161048

D is basically the selector for the first Mux, and if clk is '1', then the result goes to Q. if clk is '0', Q stays at it's current state.