Determine the ripple factor for the filtered bridge rectifier with a load as indicated in the figure below

Zooxanthellae

Joined Sep 11, 2022
You need to show your best attempt at a solution. This is NOT homework done for you.
I read that the formula for it is (Vr(rms)/ Vdc) * 100%. So I tried to get the Vdc, I tried dividing the Vrms by 10 or by using the formula. Vdc = ( 1-(1/2fRlC)). But I think I'm wrong. I'm sorry, I'm quite new to electronics,

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
First, draw a rough sketch of what you expect the general shape of the voltage at the output to be and what the current coming out of the rectifier diodes will be. Then start working things out in terms of when and where the current is flowing into and out of the capacitor. That will tell you what is happening to the voltage on that node.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
In my electronics class we were given this assignment without any guidance on how to do it. It turns out that the math is not easy. Hence one has to resort to using approximations.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
As WBahn stated, draw a picture of what you expect to see for the output voltage.
Then follow these steps. Try to derive from first principles any formula you use. Don't take any formula for granted.

You should use algebraic variables for the following calculations:

1) Calculate the rms AC voltage after the transformer.
2) Calculate the peak AC voltage after the transformer.
3) Determine the peak DC voltage at the load (Output).
4) Calculate the peak current through the load resistor RL.
5) Calculate the cycle frequency and period of the ripple voltage.

Make the first approximation assumption that the ripple voltage is a saw-tooth waveform.

6) Calculate the charge per cycle delivered to the load.

Let us see if you can continue from here on your own.

Zooxanthellae

Joined Sep 11, 2022
As WBahn stated, draw a picture of what you expect to see for the output voltage.