Designing a LED Driver Board with LM3414

franzm1985

Joined Dec 17, 2023
Hello there, i am trying to design a driver Board for LEDs with an LM3414 IC, I used the Datasheet as a reference and basically build the provided circuit for my first test. I am pretty new to PCB Design, and i know there will be a lot of things to improve and i am always open for tips. But mainly i am looking to get this circuit to work.
I also used the Datasheet to calculate the values for all of the components. They provide a pretty good instruction there.
Here are some Pictures of the PCB.

My Circuit Design

Screenshot 2023-12-17 130516.png

The Top Layer

Screenshot 2023-12-17 130704.png

The Botom Layer

Screenshot 2023-12-17 130715.png

It is used to Drive LM301H Evo Leds from Samsung, they are on a separated board, i used 8 of them in series and 5 rows in parallel. I aimed to drive the System with 24V, i realized that there could be a problem with the Voltage, but i tested the Board with the LEDs itself an the LEDs stared to light up at around 20V and that should be enough given the 10% overhead in Voltage specified in the Datasheet. But connecting the Board with the LEDs and driving it with the 24V resulted in nothing happening, the Board drew about 2-3W of Energy, so i guessed something was happening. I tested erverything for continuity, checked the resitances and also measured the different Voltages. I got 5V at the VCC Pin and 1.25V on the Sensing Pins (eg. IADJ and FS) and also of course my 24V at the VIN. But Checking the Voltage between VIN and LX only gave me around 0.25V, not enough to drive the LEDs and way less the the about 20-22V I was expecting. I left the PWM Pin unconnected, since it is specified that this should just make the IC operate at full power then, also Pulling the PWM Pin to ground dropped the Energy consumption to 0W, so i guess that is working as intended there.