Design 220VAC to 3.3VDC, how to prevent component shock

Avnerg

Joined Feb 15, 2024
I am building an SMD soldering hot plate station. I got good results when prototyping this, using this guy, which is a 100x200 500W.
Since I am a novice, definitely in 220V, I wanted a hint on how to protect the components against bursts when the relay disconnects the hot pad.
I see some disturbances on the LCD during disconnections, so I'm thinking of adding a varistor, but I'm not sure it will help.

Two questions:
1. is the schema OK? overspeced? added protection on the hotpad disconnection?
2. is the PCB design OK?

note that I am a hobbyist, and this is one of the first PCB designs I have made.
Thanka bunch!
1708000915843.png

1708000942778.png

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
Do not ground (earth) either side of the AC line, and especially not through a component like a bridge rectifier.

I would use a filament transformer for isolation of your 3.3 volt supply. A 6.3v to 12.6 V transformer should work well.

Avnerg

Joined Feb 15, 2024
Thanks @DickCappels for your quick replay!
As a novice, I'm not sure I fully understand the first comment: is it about the schema or the PCB design?
My attempt was to reduce noise by adding a Y2 cap between the Earth and GND.

ronsimpson

Joined Oct 7, 2019
Search for clearance and creepage on PCBs. The isolation from power line to non-power line components is too small. See green circles.
There needs to be a distance between line to neutral. Blue circles.
There must be a power plane that I can't see so there are probably more violations.

1708005660289.png

Here is almost the same project, where they built the power supply, WiFi micro and relay.

1708006486009.png
In this case they used PCB slots to get isolation spacing. They also added a blue jumper wire to help the layout.
1708006598705.png

Avnerg

Joined Feb 15, 2024
Hey @ronsimpson and thanks for sharing!
Here is an updated version addressing your comments.