DC current gain

qitara

Joined Jan 18, 2013
hello

I am no transistor expert and i do have very limited experience with them. I am trying to understand how the base current is sized to a transistor. After doing some searching on google i understood that one have to look at the DC current gain (BETA) in order to calculate the (lb). But on the specification sheets like the 2n3055 they mention values like these, DC current gain= 20-70. I am not getting the picture here, should one chose a value between 20-70.

Would be thank full if some one could explain.

MrChips

Joined Oct 2, 2009
DC current gain is not a fixed value. It can vary from device to device. It can also change with Ic. A value of 20-70 gives you a range of possible values.

joeyd999

Joined Jun 6, 2011
hello

I am no transistor expert and i do have very limited experience with them. I am trying to understand how the base current is sized to a transistor. After doing some searching on google i understood that one have to look at the DC current gain (BETA) in order to calculate the (lb). But on the specification sheets like the 2n3055 they mention values like these, DC current gain= 20-70. I am not getting the picture here, should one chose a value between 20-70.

Would be thank full if some one could explain.
Beta is a widely varying specification for a transistor. It depends on lots of things like process, temperature, Ic (collector current), and so on. Expect that each transistor will have a different beta within those values stated on the spec sheet, under the conditions expressed.

We use transistors for at least two things: switches and amplifiers.

In switches, we want to drive the base hard with respect to the expected collector current and beta. This way, under all circumstances, the transistor is guaranteed to be always on.

In amps, we use circuit topologies and negative feedback to limit the design's sensitivity to variations in beta.

Look up "common emitter amplifier" for an example.