current flow question

learneager

Joined Jan 19, 2024
Hello, I'm a student and still don't get this. I've learnt that a current flow between 2 points of different electric potential, but I also read that the current only flows in a closed path. I guess the latter is for true only for steady currents, doesn't it? but in the case of AC, will the current flows in an non closed path but between two points of different potential? for example touching an energized metal with AC when I have another potential
thanks

BobTPH

Joined Jun 5, 2013
What is an “energized metal?”

How does one “connect it to an AC?”

You will have to be much more clear in your example.

learneager

Joined Jan 19, 2024
for example a faulty line wire inside a toaster that touches the metal frame of it.. that would energize the toaster metal frame

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
for example a faulty line wire inside a toaster that touches the metal frame of it.. that would energize the toaster metal frame
Hi l_e.
The toaster metal work should already be connected to Earth, which should blow the fuse with that faulty wire.

If the toaster was not Earthed, the metal work would discharge through you to ground and back to the mains alternator, you would receive an electrical shock.

E
EG57_ 1416.png

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
the current only flows in a closed path. I guess the latter is for true only for steady currents, doesn't it? but in the case of AC, will the current flows in an non closed path
The path is always closed for current to flow.
Makes no difference whether it is AC or DC.

learneager

Joined Jan 19, 2024
But what if the AC power comes from an unearthed floating-ground generator? there should be no closed path in that case, right? 'my ground' would not be connected to the generator's ground

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
Does that apply to an antenna?
Don't open that can of electrons to make some point. :eek: