Could you check this circuit please? 741 Pre Amp(Student / Easy)

Scott Walker

Joined Feb 8, 2016
I need to create an inverted 741 pre amplifier circuit on a vero board
I found this diagram on the internet but it wasnt inverted so I used photoshop to swap pin 2 and 3 so it was correct.

I have a number of questions:
Firstly are the polar directions correct on this diagram since the change?
I don't know how AF in and out are connected, for example would C3 connect to a wire, connect that to AF out and then go to ground?

Thanks,
I am an audio student at university but one of the modules is Electronics in which I struggle with sometimes

Attachments

Veracohr

Joined Jan 3, 2011
C1 and C3 should be at least 10 times larger unless you're not concerned with low frequencies.

Try a better opamp than a 741. NE5532 are used a lot in audio circuits and are good.

Last edited:

Scott Walker

Joined Feb 8, 2016
C3 should go between the output of the opamp and VR1 otherwise the low frequency response will change with the level setting.

C1 and C3 should be at least 10 times larger unless you're not concerned with low frequencies.

Try a better opamp than a 741. NE5532 are used a lot in audio circuits and are good.
Thanks for the reply, I have a set list of components I need to use.

What about the way this diagram shows AF in and out, how would that be hooked up?

Cheers

Veracohr

Joined Jan 3, 2011
I edited my reply, I was wrong about C3.

AF in and out connectors will have two contacts: signal and common (ground). All common connections connect together, including the opamp ground on pin 4.

tindel

Joined Sep 16, 2012
Since this appears to be homework - I won't give answers, but will drop hints.