Correct way to turn on and off a sine wave

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Horacio Dos, Dec 28, 2016.

1. Horacio Dos

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 28, 2016
    Hello.

I'm building a Capacitive Touch Morse Keyer. The main parts are allready done (Arduino and MPR121 integration and the Wien bridge oscillator)

For the Wien bridge oscillator I used a LM741 and a ICL7660 to get a negative voltage and after some calculations and a voltage divider I managed to get a quite beatifull 860Hz sine wave above 0V.

Now I want to turn the wave on and off in order to get the dots and dashes with a pwn without modifing the wave. I always get the signal from the MOSFET Source (BS170) when It is supposted that there is no voltage going out if there is no pwn.

I'm very new to electronics and transistors (NPN, PNP and MOSFET) still are a headache to me. I don't know if these are the correct components to do that. I allready tried to turn on and off the power suppy but it seems that the BJT affects the wave, also tried to use an optocoupler with a very strange result that I can't even translate into words. Also I flipped the transistors to make it work (of course, it didn't) and I'm trapped in a trial and error loop.

Wienv2_schem.png

2. Sinus23

Sep 7, 2013
    I've never done so myself but how about using the switch at the output not the power rail? Might give you a less of a headache?

Just an idea...

3. Horacio Dos

Dec 28, 2016
    Hello.
    Yes, that's what I'm trying to do. Switching on and off the op-amp output.
    Thanks!

Expert

Nov 30, 2010
    The complete lack of what J3 is connected to isn't helping.

Sinus23 likes this.
  5. Horacio Dos

Dec 28, 2016
    Hello.
    Please ignore J1, J2 and J3. These are reminders for connections in the breadboard. J3 does nothing, I took signal to measure from there, thats all.
    Thanks

6. Sinus23

Sep 7, 2013
    Is J4 the connection to the amp/headphone/line out ?