Converting a high-low signal to an ABZ encoder output using FPGA?

HighVoltageJoe

Joined Jun 1, 2017
Hi,

I am considering the use of an FPGA to convert a UVW 60 degree out-of-phase digital signal coming from a hall sensor on a linear motor to an incremental ABZ signal output to feed into a variable frequency drive for positioning. The problem with this is that I have never used an FPGA before and don't even know where to start. To be 100% honest, they seem overwhelming to me but seem to be the only solution to my problem. I have read the FPGA for dummies and am still lost.

Would anyone be willing to have a 1-on-1 conversation with me about FPGAs or help me figure out if the FPGA is the right choice for my application?

All the best,
Joe M

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
The commutation of hall sensors in a BLDC motor etc are very coarse if intended to reproduce a ABZ (incremental?) encoder.
What do you intend to do with them?
Max.

HighVoltageJoe

Joined Jun 1, 2017
The commutation of hall sensors in a BLDC motor etc are very coarse if intended to reproduce a ABZ (incremental?) encoder.
What do you intend to do with them?
Max.
the motors are linear so they are non-rotational. I want to take the signals from each hall sensor (these hall sensors are placed on the motor such that the signals that it creates are each 60 degrees out of phase from one another) and make them imitate an encoder signal. I want to then feed this encoder signal into the variable frequency drive that is driving the motors for positioning...

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
What resolution are you going to end up with?
Typical incremental encoders, the two pulses are at 90° to each other, (quadrature).
Max.

HighVoltageJoe

Joined Jun 1, 2017
What resolution are you going to end up with?
Typical incremental encoders, the two pulses are at 90° to each other, (quadrature).
Max.