Converting 14.4v cordless drill to corded.

Thread Starter

Bassquake

Joined Feb 16, 2018
26
I have a variable speed (by trigger) 14.4v cordless drill but the nicad batteries are going.

Have tried "zapping" them but didn't work.

I have a choice of DC adaptors to use:
  • 12v 4A
  • 15v 2A
  • 18v 2A
Which would be good to use? Unfortunately I don't know what the amp rating is for the drill but looking at others it looks like 2A is common.
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
19,029
Most cordless drills draw much more current than that when running under load.
15v to 18v would work, however.
Max.
 

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
19,029
P.S. Test the drill on an automotive battery, place a typical load and measure the current.
Max.
 

Thread Starter

Bassquake

Joined Feb 16, 2018
26
P.S. Test the drill on an automotive battery, place a typical load and measure the current.
Max.
I don't have a car battery or power test bench to test with. Can I use my multimeters amp setting and test the amps used with the drills battery? I realise the battery wont give a proper reading but itll provide a start?
 

Thread Starter

Bassquake

Joined Feb 16, 2018
26

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
19,029
That is possible for a motor that runs almost 20krpm!
Although if more than a second or so, would burn out the motor.
This is why if you could find access to a automotive battery and make some tests, would be a little more conclusive.
Max.
 

be80be

Joined Jul 5, 2008
1,930
Dont test it with your multimeter you'll blow the fuse maybe even something burn up

The drill would need a supply around 10 amps it never stall. It's geared down I don't think you could hold it to stall the motor. most people let go long before that happens.
 
Last edited:

Thread Starter

Bassquake

Joined Feb 16, 2018
26

Thread Starter

Bassquake

Joined Feb 16, 2018
26
Didnt think I'd need the fuse if it has Overcurrent/Overload and Short circuit protection?
 
Top