connecting ESP8266 to google WiFi router isn't working

Thread Starter

impeham

Joined Dec 8, 2017
16
Does anyone know about a problem connecting ESP8266 to google wifi router? It doesn't connect no matter what i do. when I use tp-link router instead - the connection works fine.

by "connecting" i mean - it is programmed to connect to the routers SSID with the password. each router is using a different SSID (and i program each module to the correct ssid/password)

They can both operate at 2.4ghz so i can't see what's the cause.

google wifi:

https://www.cnet.com/products/google-wifi/review/

ESP8266:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/1PCS-ESP-0...834201&hash=item5d688652c3:g:TQEAAOSwFV9X0iVk
 

Robin Mitchell

Joined Oct 25, 2009
819
Do you have the error code that the ESP8266 throws when it attempts? Also, are you using it as a UART to WiFi device or are you actually programming the ESP8266?
 

Thread Starter

impeham

Joined Dec 8, 2017
16
ESP is already set to station mode when i get this behavior. i'm programming the ESP.

it's a bit difficult to debug it as i don't have dev environment where the routers are - after programming the ESP, i just test it there by turning it (the ESP) on and seeing it in the routers' client list + telnet to their port 80 (they are programmed to be web servers).

in the google wifi, it is not seen in the client list, so the "connect" call is failing. if i turn the router off, and turn on the TP-Link instead (which has the same SSID and password) connection + telnet are working fine

i'm using another machine on the network to test telnet connection.
 

alfonsoM

Joined Nov 8, 2017
41
Sounds like a simple case where the google router is less sensitive than the TP-Link. Put the ESP nearer to the routers and try again.
The ESP is weak on reception and transmission.
 

Thread Starter

impeham

Joined Dec 8, 2017
16
Sounds like a simple case where the google router is less sensitive than the TP-Link. Put the ESP nearer to the routers and try again.
The ESP is weak on reception and transmission.
in my tests it was 1m from the router, and i already used this chip many times with distances of more than 10m so i doubt that distance is the issue.
 
ESP is already set to station mode when i get this behavior. i'm programming the ESP.

it's a bit difficult to debug it as i don't have dev environment where the routers are - after programming the ESP, i just test it there by turning it (the ESP) on and seeing it in the routers' client list + telnet to their port 80 (they are programmed to be web servers).

in the google wifi, it is not seen in the client list, so the "connect" call is failing. if i turn the router off, and turn on the TP-Link instead (which has the same SSID and password) connection + telnet are working fine

i'm using another machine on the network to test telnet connection.
This sounds to me like it may be an authentication problem.

Google Wifi only supports devices with WPA2 + PSK

ESP8266 can have problems with authentication:

https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=486768.0
https://github.com/esp8266/Arduino/issues/2038

If you want to get help, I think it is be necessary to provide specific information, including the code you are using, the variety of ESP8266, version etc... all that stuff.
 

128ITSH

Joined Jul 20, 2017
101
What IDE do you use? If you use arduino, you can program the esp8266 to send connection error reports to your pc over UART. I guess it is possible in other platforms as well.
 

Thread Starter

impeham

Joined Dec 8, 2017
16
This sounds to me like it may be an authentication problem.

Google Wifi only supports devices with WPA2 + PSK

ESP8266 can have problems with authentication:

https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=486768.0
https://github.com/esp8266/Arduino/issues/2038

If you want to get help, I think it is be necessary to provide specific information, including the code you are using, the variety of ESP8266, version etc... all that stuff.
the authentication problem described in the 1st link is not relevant since i'm not using it as AP - it's STA.
the info in the second link looks very interesting and relevant - i'll check it out - thanks!
 

Thread Starter

impeham

Joined Dec 8, 2017
16
What IDE do you use? If you use arduino, you can program the esp8266 to send connection error reports to your pc over UART. I guess it is possible in other platforms as well.
i'm using arduino IDE and/or Visual Studio. i can't send the data in serial because i have no dev machine where i test it.
 

128ITSH

Joined Jul 20, 2017
101
i'm using arduino IDE and/or Visual Studio. i can't send the data in serial because i have no dev machine where i test it.
What do you mean by that? How do you program it then? If you have a USB-to-serial cable, you can use the arduino Serial library to send reports through it.
 
Top