Confusion about JFET voltage conventions

cmichnovicz

Joined Mar 15, 2018
Hi all. I am fairly new to electronics and am trying to use some JFETS as voltage controlled resistors, but I'm having some difficultly figuring out how the JFETs should be wired. Most pages and books say that the gate voltage of a JFET should be negative, but negative with respect to what? Do I have to use a bipolar power supply every time I want to use a JFET, or does this just mean negative with respect to the source voltage?

For instance, say I wanted to control several JFETs with a single potentiometer whose output voltage was positive. Would this ever work with an N-channel JFET? Would I just need to make the potentiometer output more negative than the source voltage? Or do I have to somehow get P-channel JFETs?

Thanks everyone!

Marley

Joined Apr 4, 2016
The gate voltage is always referenced to the source. A J-FET is a normally-on device. When the gate-source voltage is zero (gate connected to the source) the device will be on. To increase the resistance of the channel (turn if off) on an N-channel J-FET the gate has to be negative with respect to the source. At a certain negative value (the pinch off voltage) the device will be completely off. With a P-channel all the voltages are reversed.

Most J-FETS are n-channel. P-channel J-FETs exist but are rare and hard to find.

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
@eric,

Nice description, but in Figure 6, the intrinsic diode of the mosfet is potentially forward biased.

upload_2018-3-15_9-48-29.png

Is that a problem? Or, does the AC coupling avoid that?

Last edited:

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Is the question about JFETs or MOSFETs?

JFETs are depletion mode devices. MOSFETs can be enhancement or depletion mode.

ericgibbs

Joined Jan 29, 2010
hi Carl,
I feel sure way back in the 70's there were 4 terminal FET's .?
I agree in the way MOSFETs are fabricated the diode action must exist.

E

jpanhalt

Joined Jan 18, 2008
@ericgibbs