Computer Vision Project Ideas

goutham1995

Joined Feb 18, 2018
Hi, I am a graduate student and was looking for ideas for computer vision-based projects. I have rounded up on projects such as
COVID-19 Biomarker Detection in Chest X-rays. But I'd like to know what sort of novelty I can bring into this work? Or can I use another ML algorithm to do the same? Also, it would be really helpful if somebody can tell other ideas. Thank you.

panic mode

Joined Oct 10, 2011
using thermal imaging is fast but rather poor method to identify virus or viral load. also it is something with no intrinsic checks to ensure accuracy. for example person that was just infected may have no symptoms but virus is rapidly multiplying and still able to infect others. also a healthy person that was just racing to be someplace on time may have elevated temperature and thermal image profile matching one of few predefined categories even though that is not the case.
further, people using such system to spot and isolate someone that was identified as Covid carrier would have little recourse to verify the results. this is rally a rather poor (band-aid) solution meant only to aid with speed where volume of test subjects is present and medical diagnosis is too slow. false diagnostics at the airport would go undetected for long enough to make any efforts to deal with pandemic completely pointless.

if you are interested in using vision, consider applications that are in demand such as machine guidance (robots, vehicles, bin picking etc.). if your system produces poor result here, it will be very obvious and one will quickly get a chance to work on a system improvement. but once robust, this would have wide application potential

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
So, just because it gives me a chance to cite colleagues at the university from which I retired, here’s a possible direction: