Computer USB 1.0, 2.0 Safe Amp Output

Vegasbob

Joined Feb 18, 2019
I currently have a device on the market that is powered by a 12V, 500mA wall adapter. At 12V, it draws about 175mA. We have been asked by a very large company if we can supply a USB 1 or 2 computer powered version. I have been experimenting with some cheap Ebay 5V to 12V buck step up converters where the PCB is molded right in a USB cable. Using my power supply, my device normally draws about 400mA, on the USB 5V side of the converter but can momentarily jump to a little over 500mA at certain times. I have tested my setup on 2 laptops and 4 desktop computers and the arrangement is fine. That is, I haven't fried any USB ports yet by exceeding 500mA. I'm a chemical engineer so I'm somewhat lost when it comes to electronics and double E stuff. I don't want the liability of frying thousands of this companies computers so is this safe or should I try another approach?

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
As a rule, you should not count on a USB port providing more than 500mA, even though most will do so for at least short periods. The standards for those ports say 500mA and that should be your peak if you want to be sure your device will operate.

Can you find a more efficient boost converter than the cheap one?
Can you improve the circuit under power so it uses less current?

Your current arrangement (that might be a pun, and I am not going to disclaim it if it is) will probably work on a very large percentage of USB ports in the wild, but there will also probably be this cases where the USB port shuts down with an overcurrent error. I'd guess that actually damaging a port with brief, small excursions over .5A is unlikely.

ArakelTheDragon

Joined Nov 18, 2016