comparring between 2 diodes

1stas23

Joined Aug 2, 2017
Hi, i am a first year student and i got an assignment : to make 2 I/V graphs and compare between them,
one of silicon diode 1N4003 and the other one schottky diode SR5200, with Tj=25 C. by using their datasheet.
can someone help me? where in the datasheet should i look and how to i use the Tj = 25C.

1stas23

Joined Aug 2, 2017
yes i looked at the datasheet and i saw some charts for Tj = 25C, but i dont understand what should i take from them to calculate V/I .

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
yes i looked at the datasheet and i saw some charts for Tj = 25C, but i dont understand what should i take from them to calculate V/I .
Did you see a chart that gives the forward current on one axis and the forward voltage on the other?

1stas23

Joined Aug 2, 2017
for the diode 1N4003 i saw 2 graphs one forward and one reverse, in the datasheet of the schottky not exactly current and voltage/

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Do you know what an I/V graph is?
It's voltage vs. current, and I see one graph in each of your attachments showing that.

If you want to compare then, you could plot the difference in voltage between them vs. current.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
yes i know but i was asked to make my own graph and not copy the one from the datasheet.
I think you misunderstood.
Since you already have that information in graphs I know of no way to generate them independently, since that's the only information in the data sheet that quantifies that.
It makes no sense to try to generate the graphs some other way.

I think the appropriate way to compare them is to plot their difference in voltage versus current.
I think that's the point your instructor was trying to make.

1stas23

Joined Aug 2, 2017
but there should be some equation that consist the (Tj,Vd,Id) , that you can calculate (put different V and find what I youll get) or am i wrong?