Clock in every device we use???!!!

Nathan Hale

Joined Oct 28, 2011
Hello Folks! hope all is well.
I started learning about digital electronics. its pretty cool stuff.
i also have a really old and big function generator.
i learnt that a clock is nothing but a square wave function generator.
Every circuit i see needs a clock for it to do whatever it is supposed to do.
My question to you guys is ....do all the devices that need a clock have a function generator in them? ( i am sure my microwave has a clock but not a function generator in it) or do manufacturers put in a clock that spits out only one frequency? where can i find circuits and diagrams of these single frequency clocks.

thank you

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Hello Folks! hope all is well.
I started learning about digital electronics. its pretty cool stuff.
i also have a really old and big function generator.
i learnt that a clock is nothing but a square wave function generator.
Every circuit i see needs a clock for it to do whatever it is supposed to do.
My question to you guys is ....do all the devices that need a clock have a function generator in them? ( i am sure my microwave has a clock but not a function generator in it) or do manufacturers put in a clock that spits out only one frequency? where can i find circuits and diagrams of these single frequency clocks.

thank you
Not all digital circuits need a clock. The general distinction (and it's a crude one) is that combinatorial circuits do not need a clock while sequential circuits do. But there are plenty of sequential circuits that do not use a clock signal -- these generally fall into the category known as "asynchronous" circuits.

When a clock signal is needed, it can be obtained from a variety of sources or produced in a variety of ways. If it is generated internally, then some type of oscillator is needed. There are many, many types of oscillator circuits that can be chosen from, depending on the constraints of the design.

WBahn