Circuit board part identification

Garydwall

Joined May 16, 2019
Hello, I'm very new to electronics and i know this question is very basic but can somone please tell me what this part is? The owner of the board put 230v sc across the terminsls that were only supposed to get a volt free contact. Thanks in advance. Gary
I can measure a good one and get the following readings
4.77 k ohm resistance

On diode test, 0.59 v with common probe on left and red probe on right
1.35 v with leads reversed
20191117_091202.jpg

Garydwall

Joined May 16, 2019
Hello, I'm very new to electronics and i know this question is very basic but can somone please tell me what this part is? The owner of the board put 230v sc across the terminsls that were only supposed to get a volt free contact. Thanks in advance. Gary
I can measure a good one and get the following readings
4.77 k ohm resistance

On diode test, 0.59 v with common probe on left and red probe on right
1.35 v with leads reversed
View attachment 191661
From what i can make out the part has M K 5D on it.

Ya’akov

Joined Jan 27, 2019
Welcome to AAC.

That is a diode. I don’t recognize the manufacturer, perhaps someone else does.

The markings on the diode ”5D” match the markings for several manufacturers diodes.

It should not conduct in the one direction at all, so it may well be damaged.

Garydwall

Joined May 16, 2019
Welcome to AAC.

That is a diode. I don’t recognize the manufacturer, perhaps someone else does.

The markings on the diode ”5D” match the markings for several manufacturers diodes.

It should not conduct in the one direction at all, so it may well be damaged.
Thank you
On diode test i get 1.35 volts one way
And 0.59 volts the other way
??

LesJones

Joined Jan 8, 2017
You are giving VERY little information for any of us to help diagnose the problem. (I am assuming "230v sc" should be "230v ac")