changing an ac single phase motor direction

amandpm

Joined Aug 20, 2007
I have a very old Masters AC single phase 3hp motor that will run on 115v or 230v each hooked up the same way.
The motor runs clockwise and there is no indication on the tag if it can run CCW.
There are only 4 wires coming out of the motor Black, Gray, Yellow, Red.
Yellow and Red are tied together for both 115v and 230v. while Black and Gray are hooked up to the power source along with a Green wire that is secured to a screw and does not come out from the inside of the motor.
Question is Can I swap either black or gray with either yellow or red to have the motor run CCW?
Master alternating current motor
serial CX 205
Style 252876
Type RA
RPM 1725
Code C
Frame 213
HP 3
This is on the tag and I can't seem to find any information about this motor Thanks in advance.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
It sounds like you have both windings exiting the motor, if so just reversing one of them should give you the reverse you need.
How is it possible to hook the motor up the same way for either voltage does not sound right?
Where is the capacitor connected?
Max.

amandpm

Joined Aug 20, 2007
It sounds like you have both windings exiting the motor, if so just reversing one of them should give you the reverse you need.
How is it possible to hook the motor up the same way for either voltage does not sound right?
Where is the capacitor connected?
Max.
Max this motor has to be over 50 years old, it is totally enclosed and the wires coming out of the motor are the real old fabric covered kind but yea I was also stunned to see the diagram and the same hook up for 115 & 230, there is no visible capacitors on the outside of the motor, I am thinking maybe there is none inside as well but I have one nut out of 4 that spins the bolt that holds the front cover on that is holding me back from taking off the cover.
There isn't to much information on these motors on the net that I can find.

amandpm

Joined Aug 20, 2007