CD4047 behaviour or the alternative ?

brumbrys

Joined Dec 19, 2012
Hi
I'm not very experienced but I've build astable multivibrator using CD4047 with option to turn on by LOW signal on the pin 4 (IC is very easy to use and has nice features)
However the problem is that when generator outputs are turned off the Q pin is still HIGH. Is there a way to avoid it ? If not, do you know similar IC with dual square wave output which can be stopped and all outputs drop to LOW state (to turn off connected mosfets)

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Welcome to AAC!

When discussing circuits, it's best to post a schematic so we can better understand what you're describing.

Have you tried using reset (possibly labeled EXT RESET)?

brumbrys

Joined Dec 19, 2012
Yes, I checked RESET pin also. Here is what I tested. Both circuits works fine and stop CD4047 oscillation at pin OSC (pin13) and pin 10 (Q) but pin 11 is always set to HIGH :-(

cd4047_v1.png
cd4047_v2.png

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014
You could use a quad NAND gate, CD4011B. The oscillator is uses two of the gates as in the circuit below. Set the frequency by changing C1 and/or R1. When enable is high the oscillator will run. The outputs of the two gates will be antiphase like the CD4047. When enable is low the oscillator will be stopped and both outputs will be high. You can use the other two gates in the chip as inverters to invert (and buffer) both outputs so they will be low when the oscillator is stopped.

dl324

Joined Mar 30, 2015
Would it have also the same frequency stability as CD4047 ?
With respect to what? Temperature? Supply voltage? Part to part?

Also note that two inverter oscillators aren't guaranteed to oscillate. For example, if C1 was sufficiently small...

brumbrys

Joined Dec 19, 2012
I mean stability with respect to temperature (mainly) and power supply voltage (sealed lead acid battery with voltage between 14 and 12V).

AlbertHall

Joined Jun 4, 2014